NICOLA044

Potato Vodka

Clear

During the first half of the 19th century, potato schnapps was a pioneering product of the industrial mass production of spirits. The end of the spirit monopoly in 2013 has since led to the closure of almost all potato distilleries.

Nose

nutty, floral

Taste

vegetable, dried fruit, apricot, potato

Finish

fruity, bitter

Ingredients

Nicola potato, yeast, water

Preparation

What Peter Day does in his distillery on the Lower Rhine is the exact opposite of mass production. NICOLA 044 is a single-variety brandy. Starchy mash from local Nicola potatoes is processed directly here in a 150-liter still, fermented and then double distilled. The result is a highly aromatic distillate, with floral and nutty notes, along with hints of apricot and dried fruit.

h
Kempen, Niederrhein
  • Peter Day

    Distiller | Kempen, Niederrhein

    The Wackertappmühle, where Peter Day lives and works with his wife Käthe, has been in Kempen on the Lower Rhine since 1842. In 2017 he converted the mill’s old flour warehouse into a distillery. In doing so, Peter followed his passion for distilling. After 25 years of work in an advertising agency, “it’s wonderful to create things that are really important to you,” he says.

    In his 150 liter copper still, not only various types of fruit are distilled to fine eau-de-vies. He particularly enjoys distilling starchy substances such as spelt or single-origin potatoes similarly as fruit mash. By this process he ensures that the aromas are carefully enriched through slow heating and the lowest possible temperatures.

    “It is a real fulfillment to make a product that is then there for evaluation,” describes Peter his motivation. And this was rewarded many times. Among other things at the Craft Spirits Berlin Awards, where his sour cherry eau-de-vie was voted the best spirit of the year in 2018.

NICOLA044

Kartoffelbrand

Kartoffelschnaps war in der ersten Hälfte des 19. Jahrhunderts Vorreiter industrieller Massenproduktion von Spirituosen. Mit dem Ende des Branntweinmonopols für Verschlussbrennereien in 2013 mussten fast alle Kartoffelbrennereien schließen.

Geruch

nussig, floral

Geschmack

vegetabil, Dörobst, Aprikose, Kartoffel

Abgang

fruchtig, bitter

Zutaten

Nicola-Kartoffel, Hefe, Wasser

Herstellung

Was Peter Day in seiner Brennerei am Niederrhein macht, ist das genaue Gegenteil von Massenproduktion. NICOLA 044 ist eine sortenreiner Brand. Die stärkehaltige Maische aus regio- nalen Nicola-Kartoffeln wird direkt in der 150 Liter Brennblase verzu- ckert, vergoren und anschließend zweifach gebrannt. Das Ergebnis ist ein sehr aromareiches Destillat mit floralen und nussigen Noten sowie Anklängen von Aprikosen und Dörrobst.

h
Kempen, Niederrhein
  • Peter Day

    Brenner | Kempen, Niederrhein

    In Kempen am Niederrhein steht seit 1842 die Wackertappmühle, in der Peter Day zusammen mit seiner Frau Käthe lebt und arbeitet. 2017 wandelte er das alte Mehllager der Mühle zu einer Destillerie um. Damit folgte Peter seiner Leidenschaft für das Brennen. Nach 25 Jahre Arbeit in einer Werbeagentur »ist es wunderbar Dinge zu schaffen, die einem wirklich am Herzen liegen,« sagt er.

    In seiner kupfernen 150 Liter Brennblase werden nicht nur Obstsorten zu edlen Obstbränden weiterverarbeitet. Eine besondere Freude bereitet es ihm, stärkehaltige Stoffe wie Dinkel oder sortenreine Kartoffel wie Obst zu destillieren und somit auch ähnlich komplexe Aromen zu gewinnen. Dabei achtet er beim Brenner darauf, durch langsame Erwärmung und möglichst niedrigen Temperaturen die Aromen vorsichtig anzureichern.

    »Es ist eine wahre Erfüllung, ein Produkt zu machen, das dann zur Bewertung dasteht,« beschreibt Peter seine Motivation. Und diese wurde vielfach belohnt. Unter anderem bei den Craft Spirits Berlin Awards, wo 2018 sein Brand zur besten Spirituose des Jahres gewählt wurde.