ALB-LEISA42

Lentil Vodka

Clear

During the first half of the 19th century, potato schnapps was a pioneering product in the industrial mass production of spirits. The end of the spirit monopoly on cap distilleries in 2013 has since led to the closure of almost all potato distilleries.

Nose

floral | Dried fruit | peppery

Taste

Cherry | Apricot | bitter

Finish

Hay | sweetish

Ingredients

Alb-Leisa – single variety lentil, yeast, water

Preparation

The lentil variety used was cultivated in the Swabian Alb until the 1960s. Then the seeds were considered lost until they were discovered in a seed bank in St. Petersburg (Russia) in 2006. Today it is grown again on the Swabian Alb by the organic producers’ association Alb-Leisa. This product is a rarity.

h
Kempen, Niederrhein
  • Peter Day

    Distiller | Kempen, Niederrhein

    The Wackertappmühle, where Peter Day lives and works with his wife Käthe, has been in Kempen on the Lower Rhine since 1842. In 2017 he converted the mill’s old flour warehouse into a distillery. In doing so, Peter followed his passion for distilling. After 25 years of work in an advertising agency, “it’s wonderful to create things that are really important to you,” he says.

    In his 150 liter copper still, not only various types of fruit are distilled to fine eau-de-vies. He particularly enjoys distilling starchy substances such as spelt or single-origin potatoes similarly as fruit mash. By this process he ensures that the aromas are carefully enriched through slow heating and the lowest possible temperatures.

    “It is a real fulfillment to make a product that is then there for evaluation,” describes Peter his motivation. And this was rewarded many times. Among other things at the Craft Spirits Berlin Awards, where his sour cherry eau-de-vie was voted the best spirit of the year in 2018.

ALB-LEISA42

Brand aus Späth'sche Alb-Linse

Auswahl zurücksetzen

Peter Day vom Niederrhein (mühle4), der für das Kollektiv bereits aus sortenreinen Kartoffeln den NICOLA 044 destillierte, gewann aus Späths Alb-Linsen den Linsenbrand ALB-LEISA 041. 

Geruch

floral | Dörobst | pfeffrig

Geschmack

Kirsche | Aprikose | bitter

Abgang

Heu | süßlich

Zutaten

Späth'sche Alb-Linse | Hefe | Wasser

Herstellung

Die verwendete Linsensorte wurde bis in den 60er Jahren des letzten Jahrhunderts auf der Schwäbischen Alb angebaut. Dann galt das Saatgut als verschollen, bis es 2006 in einer Samengutbank in St. Petersburg (Russland) entdeckt wurde. Heute wird sie von der ÖKO-Erzeugergemeinschaft Alb-Leisa wieder auf der Schwäbischen Alb angebaut. Dieses Produkt ist eine echte Rarität.

h
Kempen, Niederrhein
  • Peter Day

    Brenner | Kempen, Niederrhein

    In Kempen am Niederrhein steht seit 1842 die Wackertappmühle, in der Peter Day zusammen mit seiner Frau Käthe lebt und arbeitet. 2017 wandelte er das alte Mehllager der Mühle zu einer Destillerie um. Damit folgte Peter seiner Leidenschaft für das Brennen. Nach 25 Jahre Arbeit in einer Werbeagentur »ist es wunderbar Dinge zu schaffen, die einem wirklich am Herzen liegen,« sagt er.

    In seiner kupfernen 150 Liter Brennblase werden nicht nur Obstsorten zu edlen Obstbränden weiterverarbeitet. Eine besondere Freude bereitet es ihm, stärkehaltige Stoffe wie Dinkel oder sortenreine Kartoffel wie Obst zu destillieren und somit auch ähnlich komplexe Aromen zu gewinnen. Dabei achtet er beim Brenner darauf, durch langsame Erwärmung und möglichst niedrigen Temperaturen die Aromen vorsichtig anzureichern.

    »Es ist eine wahre Erfüllung, ein Produkt zu machen, das dann zur Bewertung dasteht,« beschreibt Peter seine Motivation. Und diese wurde vielfach belohnt. Unter anderem bei den Craft Spirits Berlin Awards, wo 2018 sein Brand zur besten Spirituose des Jahres gewählt wurde.