DARK RYE607

100 % Rye Malt Whisky

Whiskey distillery J. Haider began distilling in 1995 and presented its first whiskey three years later: Waldviertler Whiskey J.H. was also the first whiskey in Austria. The distillery’s assortment includes rye and rye malt whiskeys as well as single malts made from pure barley malt. In a global comparison, Austria is still ahead of the USA in the production of rye, and the Haider family is concentrating on this competence of rye whiskey right from the start. This experience is the basis of our DARK RYE 607.

Nose

light vanilla, malty and nutty notes

Taste

Pumpernickel, subtle nutty notes, vanilla, raisins

Finish

malt, toffee, honey

Ingredients

(Deutsch) 100 % Roggenmalz, Wasser

Preparation

The Waldviertel offers the best conditions, more than half of the local rye is cultivated and harvested there. Rye and rye malt whiskeys already make up 70% of Haider distillery. The spirits store up to 15 years in barrels that are made from Manhartsberger Sommereiche (a local oak variety) and give the whiskey mild notes of vanilla. Special Selections are matured in used sweet wine barrels, as well as the DARK RYE 607. Its basis is 100% of dark roasted rye malt of the Mälzerei Plohberger. Distilled in a copper pot still, the rye whiskey then matures for three years in a barrel of local oak, in which previously had a so-called Trockenbeerenauslese – a sweet wine made from selected grapes left to partly-dry on the vine –  was stored. “Whiskey does not have to be old, it needs to be at the right age,” is the credo of Jasmin Haider-Stadler. With a strength of 46% vol., The DARK RYE 607 offers a concise, caramel touch and a long-lasting finish.

h
Roggenreith, Waldviertel
  • Jasmin Haider

    Distiller | Roggenreith, Austria

    Since 2016, Jasmin Haider-Stadler has been managing her father’s distillery, founded in 1995, the whiskey distillery J. Haider, together with her mother Monika Haider. Healthy growth and quality over quantity is the credo of the women’s team at the head of the distillery, which is based in the village with the significant name Roggenreith (translates “rye glade”). Jasmin Haider-Stadler is also President of the Austrian Whiskey Association. The DARK RYE 607 is their first product for FREIMEISTERKOLLEKTIV.

DARK RYE607

100 % Roggenwhisky

Das Familienunternehmen Whiskydestillerie J. Haider begann 1995 zu destillieren und präsentierte gut drei Jahre später seinen ersten Whisky: Der Waldviertler Whisky J.H. war zudem der erste Whisky Österreichs. Zu dem Sortiment der Destillerie zählen im Speziellen Roggen- und Roggenmalzwhiskys, aber auch Single Malts aus reinem Gerstenmalz. Im weltweiten Vergleich liegt Österreich bei der Produktion von Roggen noch vor den USA, und auf diese Kompetenz des Roggenwhisky konzentriert sich die Familie Haider von Anfang an. Diese Erfahrung ist die Basis unseres DARK RYE 607.

Geruch

Leichter Vanilleton, malzige und nussige Noten

Geschmack

Brotige Noten – Pumpernickel, fein nussig, Vanille, Rosinen

Abgang

Malz, Toffee, Honig

Zutaten

100 % Roggenmalz, Wasser

Herstellung

Das Waldviertel bietet beste Voraussetzungen, mehr als die Hälfte des heimischen Roggens werden dort angebaut und geerntet. Roggen- und Roggenmalzwhiskys machen in der Destillerie Haider bereits 70% der Produktion aus. Die Spirituosen lagern bis zu 15 Jahre in Fässern, die aus Manhartsberger Sommereiche oder Traubeneiche gefertigt werden und dem Whisky einen milden Vanilleton verleihen. Spezielle Selections werden in gebrauchten Süßweinfässern gereift, wie auch der DARK RYE 607. Dessen Basis ist 100% beim Darren dunkel gerösteten Roggenmalz der Mälzerei Plohberger. Destilliert auf einer kupfernen Pot Still, reift der Roggenwhiskey danach drei Jahre in einem Fass aus lokaler Eiche, in dem sich zuvor eine Trockenbeerenauslese befunden hat. “Whisky musst nicht alt sein, er braucht das richtige Alter”, so das Credo von Jasmin Haider-Stadler. Bei einer Trinkstärke von 46% Vol. besticht der DARK RYE 607 durch eine prägnante, karamellige Note und einen lang anhaltenden Abgang.

h
Roggenreith, Waldviertel
  • Jasmin Haider

    Brennerin | Roggenreith, Waldviertel

    Jasmin Haider-Stadler leitet seit 2016 die 1995 gegründete Destillerie ihres Vaters, die Whiskydestillerie J. Haider, gemeinsam im Verbund mit ihrer Mutter Monika Haider. Gesundes Wachstum und Qualität vor Quantität ist Credo des Frauenteams an der Spitze der Destillerie, die im Ort mit dem bezeichnenden Namen Roggenreith angesiedelt ist. Jasmin Haider-Stadler ist darüber hinaus Präsidentin der Austrian Whisky Association. Der DARK RYE 607 ist ihr erstes Produkt für das FREIMEISTERKOLLEKTIV.