KÜMMEL, KAKAO902

Aquavit caraway, cocoa beans

Clear

Lasse Öznek and Sune Urth from Copenhagen Distillery have developed two aquavits exclusively for the Freimeisterkollektiv. With DILL, FENNEL 901 and KÜMMEL, KAKAO 902 they interpret the aromatic range of this Scandinavian spirit. The aquavit aromas, caraway and dill, processed master distiller and Chemical Engineering Lasse together with Denmark aquavit expert Sune to two distillates. Their minimalist concept complements these characteristics with an additional aromatic component. In KÜMMEL, KAKAO 902, the nutty, floral-honey-like notes of raw cocoa beans strengthen the citrus-like, minty character of caraway.

Nose

dill-like, anise-like, balsamic

Taste

dill-like, orange-like, green, slightly sweet

Finish

spicy, apple-like, liquorice

Ingredients

Dill seeds (Anethum graveolens), fennel (Foeniculum vulgare), wheat spirit, water

Preparation

Aquavit or Akvavit is a spirit with caraway and / or dill seeds that has been flavored with a herbal or spice distillate. Aquavit is mainly produced in Scandinavia. Norwegian aquavit is subject to additional regulations. The basic spirit must be a potato distillate made from at least 95% domestic potatoes. In addition, Norwegian aquavit must mature for at least six months in oak barrels, which must not be larger than 1,000 liters. If the barrels are larger, the minimum storage time increases to twelve months.

h
Copenhagen, Denmark
  • L. Öznek & S. Urth

    Distiller, R&D | Copenhagen, Denmark

    Copenhagen Distillery was founded in 2014 as the city’s first artisanal distillery. The founder Hendrik Brinks wanted to produce the perfect Danish whiskey according to his ideas. “My mission was to create spirits with new flavors and unexpected experiences,” says Henrik. He started with a tiny distillery that grew into a distillery in just a few years.

    Today Lasse Öznek and Sune Urth are responsible for product development. Through his passion for spirits, Lasse knew Henrik as a soul mate. Before joining the team in 2017, he worked as a chemical engineer for a laboratory. Today he is a master distiller and technical director of the distillery.

    Sune Urth is Head of Research & Development. He is regarded as a luminary when it comes to aquavit. He has written three books on the subject. Before sharing his expertise with the distillery team, he spent several years behind the counter at the legendary Ruby, the bar that is considered the lap of Scandinavian cocktail culture.

KÜMMEL, KAKAO902

AQUAVIT

Lasse Öznek und Sune Urth von der Copenhagen Distillery haben exklusiv für das Freimeisterkollektiv zwei Aquavits entwickelt. Mit DILL, FENCHEL 901 und KÜMMEL, KAKAO 902 interpretieren sie die aromatische Bandbreite dieser skandinavischen Spirituose. Die prägenden Aquavitaromen, Kümmel und Dill, verarbeiteten Master Distiller und Chemieingenieur Lasse gemeinsam mit Dänemarks Aquavit- Experte Sune zu je zwei individuellen Destillaten. Ihr minimalistisches Konzept ergänzt diese Charakteristik um je eine weitere aromatische Komponente. In KÜMMEL, KAKAO 902 verstärken die nussig, floral-honigartigen Noten von rohen Kakaobohnen den zitrus- artigen, minzigen Charakter vom Kümmel.

Geruch

kümmelartig, Leder, Kakao-Aromen

Geschmack

roher Kakao-Aromen, pfefferig, würzig, nussig

Abgang

floral-honigartig, leichte Bitternoten

Zutaten

Echter Kümmel (Carum carvi), rohe Kakaobohnen (Theobroma cacao), Zitronenschale (Citrus x limon), Weizenfeindestillat, Wasser

Herstellung

Aquavit oder auch Akvavit ist eine Spirituose mit Kümmel und/oder Dillsamen, die mit einem Kräuter- oder Gewürzdestillat aromatisiert wurde. Aquavit wird hauptsächlich in Skandinavien hergestellt. Norwegischer Aquavit unterliegt weiteren Regelungen. Basisspirituose muss ein Kartoffeldestillat sein, das aus mindestens 95 % heimischen Kartoffeln gebrannt wurde. Außerdem muss norwegischer Aquavit mindestens sechs Monate in Eichenfässern reifen, die nicht größer als 1.000 Liter sein dürfen. Sollten die Fässer grö- ßer sein, erhöht sich die minimale Lagerzeit auf zwölf Monate.

h
Copenhagen, Denmark
  • L. Öznek & S. Urth

    Brenner, R&D | Kopenhagen, Dänemark

    Als erste handwerkliche Brennerei der Stadt wurde Copenhagen Distillery 2014 gegründet. Der Gründer Hendrik Brinks wollte den nach seinen Vorstellungen perfekten dänischen Whisky herstellen. »Meine Mission war, Spirituosen zu kreieren, die von neuen Aromen geprägt sind und unerwartete Erfahrungen hervorrufen,« meint Henrik. Er startete mit einer winzigen Brennanlage, die in nur wenigen Jahren zu einer Brennerei wuchs.

    Heute sind für Produktentwicklung Lasse Öznek und Sune Urth verantwortlich. Durch seine Leidenschaft für Spirituosen kannte Lasse Henrik als Seelenverwandten. Bevor er 2017 ins Team kam, arbeitete er als Chemie- ingenieur für ein Labor. Heute ist er Master-Distiller und technischer Leiter der Brennerei.

    Sune Urth ist Leiter für Research & Development. Er gilt als Koryphäe in Sachen Aquavit. Drei Bücher hat er zu diesem Thema geschrieben. Bevor er seine Expertise mit dem Team der Brennerei teilte, stand er mehrere Jahre hinter dem Tresen des legendären Ruby, jener Bar, die als Schoß der skandinavischen Cocktailkultur gilt.